City trip Barcelona day 1

Arriving in Barcelona

Hey everyone! this weekend I had the pleasure of going on a citytrip to Barcelona.

I arrived the Thursday evening and checked in to my hostel “The Hipstel”. The hostel itself is quite nice. I personally took a female only bunk room for 6 persons. The beds and the room were clean, and it was very nice to meet new people. The hostel provides bedsheets which makes it easier to travel. The rooms are protected with a double key card. One to get onto the flour itself and then also one to get into your room.
I would advice you to take your own lock with you as there are lockers available in the room to put all your valuables in.
The showers are another story. When I arrived the first day the showers where clean and I had no trouble showering. When I wanted to shower over the weekend, the showers where really nasty, there was hair everywhere and there was even wet carton inside them. So I would advice you to wake up very early so that the showers are still clean.

I was there to meet up with some international friends and we first went to “the Magic Fountain of Montjuïc” there is a light show in the evening which you cannot miss. Afterwards we had dinner at the top flour of the shopping mall ‘Arenas’, which is an old bullfighting arena. We had dinner in the restaurant ‘Mussol’, the paella was really one of the best ever.

 

The touristic tour

The next morning I woke up very early. I had to take to metro to get to Park Guell, which was 30 minutes away. I would advice everyone to go in the early morning as there are less people.

I took the metro and then walked to the entrance of the ‘monumental area’. On the way I stopped in this nice little cafe “LaGranja”, the orange juice was extremely good!

1520579427795

When entering you are given a map of the area, and then you can walk around. I loved the quietness of the park, and had plenty of time to take good photos. I stayed till around 9h45 and then made my way to “San Pao”.

 

“San Pao” is an old hospital that is worth the visit. I did not book online and just went in. Except some tours, there were almost no people. There is a map with a walking tour that is given when you enter. I walked around and even sat in the sun for some time. I only had my entrance for the Sagrada familia at 16h so I went to eat and relax in the sun.

 

 

At 16h it ws time to head into the Sagrada Familia, where I was informed that the Nativity tower was closed due to a defect elevator. Because of this I had all the time in the world to visit and take multiple pictures of the inside.

 

Hope you enjoyed this first post! The next part of my trip will be for later.
See you soon
Delphine

Leave a comment